7 of 365: Back to Work

A blog a day keeps the blues at bay!  (Well done me. So far, so good.)

I went back to work today after 2 weeks off. Man, it’s hard! I love being on holiday because I’m as free as a bird. I love being able to come and go as I please without having to answer to anyone. I love deciding moment by moment what I want to do. I love getting out of bed when I want and staying up half the night if I feel like it. I love not having to ask permission for things like days off and I love not being tied to anything. Freedom rules!

That’s the thing I miss most when I have to go to work – my freedom. Work is so restricting and controlling. If, on a whim, I want to spend a week exploring some wilderness, I can’t because I’ve got obligations and responsibilities, and a distinct lack of money needed to survive. I can’t ring work and say, “Hey, just letting you know I won’t be in this week because my desire for freedom calls.” Well, I can ring them and say that and they’d say, “Take all the freedom you need ‘cos you’re fired.” Then the only home I’d have would be the wilderness! I like my roof and my bed too much for that!

Big sigh.

One day I will be free to do as I please. It’s in my life plan. My desire for it compels me to achieve it. Hopefully I’ll be successful – and I mean well before retirement age. Next week would be preferable.

Leave a Reply

